UPDATED - January 27, 2007

A-League Archives Home

American Professional

Soccer League

1990 Season

ASL Conference

Albany Capitals - Boston Bolts - Ft. Lauderdale Strikers - Maryland Bays - Miami Sharks - New Jersey Eagles

Orlando Lions - Penn-Jersey Spirit - Tampa Bay Rowdies - Washington Diplomats - Washington Stars


1990 WSL Home  - 1990 ASL Home  -1990 Results - 1990 Stats


If you have any information I can use on this page, please-mail me at a-leaguearchive@lycos.com

North Division             GP   W   L   PK   GF  GA  Pts
Maryland Bays              20  15   5  1-0   42  29   44
Albany Capitals            20  14   6  1-1   35  22   42
Penn-Jersey Spirit         20  13   7  1-1   34  23   39
Boston Bolts               20   9  11  1-2   27  27   28
Washington Stars           20   7  13  0-0   24  28   22
New Jersey Eagles          20   6  14  1-0   21  38   17

South Division             GP   W   L   PK   GF  GA  Pts
Ft. Lauderdale Strikers    20  15   5  1-1   38  22   45
Tampa Bay Rowdies          20  10  10  1-0   32  39   29
Orlando Lions              20   8  12  0-0   25  30   24
Miami Freedom              20   8  12  1-1   27  29   24
Washington Diplomats       20   5  15  1-2   22  40   16

Win-6pts, SOW-2pts, SOL-1pt, 1 bonus point per goal scored
in regulation, maximum of 3 per game


*-after extra time

First Round

8/10/90 Albany            2-3  Ft. Lauderdale

8/12/90 Ft. Lauderdale    2-0  Albany

Ft. Lauderdale advances on 2-0 series win


8/10/90 Maryland          2-1* Tampa Bay

8/12/90 Tampa Bay         1-4  Maryland

Maryland advances on 2-0 series win


ASL Confernece Championship

8/18/90 Ft. Lauderdale    2-3  Maryland

8/25/90 Maryland          2-0  Ft. Lauderdale

Maryland win ASL Championship 2 games to 0


APSL Championship - at Boston

9/18/90  Maryland         1-1  San Francisco Bay

Maryland win APSL Championship on penalties

1990 ASL Leading Goalscorers

Mike Masters, Albany                  14

Phillip Gyau, Maryland                12

Jean Harbor, Maryland                  8

Mike Sweeney, Boston                   8

Elvis Comrie, Albany                   8

Steve Pittman, Ft. Lauderdale          7

Marcelo Carrera, Ft. Lauderdale        7

Laszio Barna, Miami                    7

Rob Ryerson, Maryland                  7

Paul Riley, New Jersery                7

Dan Donigan, Penn-Jersey               6

Joe Koziol, Boston                     6

Paul Dougherty, Orlando                6

Fernando Ramos, Miami                  6


ASL Goalkeeping Leaders                GAA

Dale Caya, Penn-Jersey                 0.71

Bill Steffen, Albany                   0.97

Arnie Mausser, Ft. Lauderdale          1.02

Mark Simpson, Orlando                  1.13

Neil Cowley, Washington Stars          1.22

Steve Powers, Maryland                 1.26


1990 ASL Award Winners

Most Valuable Player:  Philip Gyau, Maryland Bays
Coach of the Year:  Thomas Rongen, Ft. Lauderdale
Rookie of the Year:  Steve Pittman, Ft. Lauderdale


1990 ASL First XI

G - Dale Caya, Penn-Jersey
D - Steve Pittman, Ft. Lauderdale
D - Paul Mariner, Albany
D - Brian Ainscough, Penn-Jersey
D - George Gelnovatch, Penn-Jersey
M - Chicago Borja, Albany
M - Marcelo Carrera, Ft. Lauderdale
M - David Byrne, Tampa Bay
F - Phillip Gyau, Maryland
F - Dan Donigan, Penn-Jersey

Home Attendance     G    Total    Avg.


Overview of the 1990 APSL Season - From the American Soccer History Archives

    The American Professional Soccer League was formed as a result of a 1989 merger agreement between the Western Soccer Alliance and the American Professional Soccer League. This merger brought together the two strongest professional outdoor leagues, and that union accomplished several important purposes: It was seen as an opportunity to return top flight soccer on a nationwide basis for the first time since the demise of the North American Soccer League, and shift the balance in favor of the outdoor sport, which had taken a back seat to indoor soccer for the latter half of the 1980's. The league also had ambitions to be designated by FIFA as the new Division 1 American league. The APSL had several advantages, among them several established clubs, some of them with years of amateur experience, as well as the bulk of the top players in the US. APSL rosters boasted many of the National Team players and reserves who were not already part of the USSF residency program. The major challenges were the fact that none of the teams was truly operating at a high level of professionalism, and the new nationwide sprawl of teams would wreak havoc with high travel expenses. To ease the transition, The former ASL and WSA played their regular seasons as separate conferences, meeting only at the end for the Championship game.


    The regular season provided some high excitement in the divisional races, as Maryland, Albany and Penn-Jersey fought a tight three way battle right into the last week of the season, with Maryland squeaking out a two point victory at season's end. The WSL featured two divisional races worth watching: In the North, the San Francisco Bay Blackhawks, Salt Lake Sting, Colorado Foxes and Portland Timbers were within five points of each other, with Salt Lake City and San Francisco tied for the crown. Meanwhile in the South, California, Los Angeles and Real Santa Barbara finished neck and neck. In the first official APSL Championship game, Maryland and San Francisco Bay mounted a memorable fight in driving rain at Boston before a national television audience, and Maryland finally pulled out a 2-1 victory on penalty kicks to crown a true national outdoor champion for the first time in more than half a decade.

This website and it's content is unofficial, and is not endorsed by, or affiliated with United Soccer Leagues or the clubs associated with them. The content within this website is intended for informational purposes only.